Judo Saskatchewan Grading Committee

Judo uses a progression system to promote participants who have attained specific skill and knowledge proficiencies. This progression is tracked using different colours of belts. The progression system is divided in two: Kyu Grades (White to Brown) and Dan Ranks (Black).
The Kyu grades are defined in the Mudansha (Kyu) grade syllabus and are administered by clubs across the country.  These levels are designed to progressively learn judo techniques and culture. 
Dan grades include 10 degrees starting from the black belt (Shodan). These degrees were created in order to perfect the techniques and to develop the culture of judo.  Dan grades are defined in the Yudansha (Dan) grade syllabus and are administered by Judo Canada Grading Committee and Provincial /Territorial Grading Committees. 

Yudansha Grading for December 3rd-4th, 2022  Application Deadline October 14, 2022

Competitive Stream – Saturday, December 3 (in conjunction with Kata Clinic)
Technical Stream – Sunday, December 4
Location: Moose Jaw Koseikan Judo Club
Time: Saturday 10:00 – 16:00
Sunday 10:00 - till completion

All potential candidates for both streams must have their grading documents filed with Judo Canada by October 14, 2022 or they will not be eligible for the grading.
There are no exceptions to this rule.

Please read the grading guidelines above. A link to the Judo Canada website is also provided there to access the application forms for each stream. Please note that the Head Instructor for the candidate must give his/her approval before the application process is started. The Provincial Grading Committee will give their approval upon notification by Judo Canada. Please feel free to contact any member of the Grading Committee if there are still questions.



Judo Saskatchewan Grading Process Guidelines

Last updated Jan 15, 2022.

Congratulations on Promotions!









Berglund, Dale

Bergey Kaip, Kimberly

Karaim, Robb

Beaumont, Robert

Cook, Brian

Shinmura, Toshi
Few, Allan 
O'Sullivan, James 




Burnett, Brady

Doige, Blair

Heaton, Harry

Ibanez, Ralph

Jewitt-Filteau, Nancy

Kostron, Ross (New! - Sprint 2022)

Pattison, Pat

Wiens, William James

Renouf John

Schneider, Kate

Soares, Mike

Keller, Lloyd 






Dornstauder, Chris

Hattum-Snider, Lorna

Horvey, Michael

Karaim, Maxx

Karaim, Jack

Ko, Daniel

Miller, Grant

Joseph Lee 

Seymour, Vince  








Berglund, Ann Marie

Clark, Shane

Clark, Susan

Gibney, Destiny (New! - Spring 2022)

Hodgson, Chris

Hoffarth, Tristin

Kozlowski, Melvin 

Lalonde, Ezra

Li, Alex (New! - Spring 2022)

Litzenberger, Chad (New! - Spring 2022)

MacDonald, Vernon

MacLeod, Andrew

Nelson, Jeff

Miller, Glen

Rivers, Garth

Seib, Warren

Skaf, Aidan

Sommerfeld, Bishop (New! - Spring 2022)

Tatler, Fred

Taylor, Blair   

Potts, Darryl   




Bowie, Carol

Burnett, Keon

Burton, Russell

Chartrand, Blaine

Dingwall, JR (New! - Spring 2022)

Dornstauder, Dianne

Edwards, Tallissa (New! - Spring 2022)

Ferrence, Christien

Gendzwill, Neil

Hartley, John

Horley, Michael

Irvine, James

Irvine, Jeffery

Kiley, Andre (New! - Spring 2022)

Kirkland, Francis (New! - Spring 2022)

Kuba, John

Laturnus, Stephanie

Litzenberger, Euan

Litzenberger, Maximus

Loran, Issac (New! - Spring 2022)

Loran, Steven (New! - Spring 2022)

McKay, Deborah

Orescanin, Dan

Smook, Mike 

Stringer, Tyrell

Suberlak, Curtis

Taylor, Victor (TV)

Wallace, Jennifer

Wanamaker, April

Wiens, Joshua


Justin Filteau                      

Merv Pointer           

Norman Quan

Kenneth Wanamaker